# Outcomes Climate Change Authority Meeting 20 May 2025



# Preamble

The Authority met on 20 May 2025 for the first time following the appointment of new members Tim Reed and Gretta Stephens for 5-year terms, replacing former members Susie Smith and John McGee.

This followed an out-of-session meeting on 21 February 2025 at which members discussed and agreed the Authority's self-initiated report *Assessing the impact of a nuclear pathway on Australia's emissions.* 

The meeting commenced with an Acknowledgement of Country, delivered by the Chair, and standard deliberations relating to administrative matters, including declaration and handling of potential conflicts of interest and the CEO's report. Several members provided updates to their notified interests for recording on the website notice and, as required, on the relevant register, in accordance with the *Authority Charter*.

#### Summary – 20 May 2025

# 2025 Electricity supplemental report

Authority members considered insights from expert consultations and findings from analysis on opportunities to accelerate the delivery of renewable energy infrastructure in Australia. Members discussed proposed recommendations and inclusions for policy advice to be presented in a forthcoming report to the Minister, building on recommendations provided in the 2024 Annual Progress Report.

#### 2035 Targets Advice

Authority members continued deliberations on the development of advice to the Minister regarding 2035 emissions reduction targets. Members considered findings and insights from in-depth sectoral analysis; macroeconomic modelling; scientific and policy research; stakeholder and community consultation and geo-economic intelligence.

#### Other Business

Members discussed forthcoming outputs from the Authority's work programs and agreed to hold an additional meeting in mid-July to enable appropriate deliberation on major items.

#### Attendance

# Attendees

Mr Matt Kean*	Chair
Professor Tony Haymet*	Member (ex-officio)
Dr Virginia Marshall	Member
Professor Lesley Hughes*	Member
Ms Fiona Simson	Member
Mr Richard Bolt	Member
Ms Patty Akopiantz	Member
Ms Gretta Stephens	Member

\* Partial attendance

# Apologies

Mr Tim Reed

Member

#### Secretariat

Mr Brad Archer	Chief Executive Officer
Ms Eliza Murray	Deputy Chief Executive Officer
Mr Jed Buffier	Acting General Manager, Analysis Branch
Ms Weilin Chiu	Acting General Manager, Systems and Science Branch
Dr Jennifer Rayner	General Manager, Outreach and Enabling Branch
Mr Tim Banks	General Counsel
Secretariat note takers	