Brad Archer, CEO of the Climate Change Authority, today thanked four departing members for their commitment and service to the Authority, and welcomed three new members. 

Dr Wendy Craik AM has been Chair of the Authority since May 2016. Dr Craik, Mr Stuart Allinson, Ms Kate Carnell AO, and the Hon. John Sharp AM were appointed as members in October 2015.

Over the past five and half years they have led the substantial work program of the Authority, including reviews of the Emissions Reduction Fund and the National Greenhouse and Energy Reporting scheme and recommending measures to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of these schemes.

In 2020 the Authority’s research found that global action on climate change presents significant opportunities for Australia. The report, Prospering in a low emissions world, discussed how our abundance of clean energy and technical know-how provide us with vital sources of advantage as the world acts to address climate change.

The related report, Economic recovery, resilience and prosperity after the coronavirus, identified measures that could contribute to a ‘triple-win' economic stimulus package in response to the economic impacts of COVID-19.

Many of the Authority’s suggestions over the last five years have found their way into government policy and its work continues to be referenced in public discussion on climate change.

With the announcement(Opens in a new tab/window) by the Government today of new appointments to the Authority, Mr Archer thanked Dr Craik AM, Mr Allinson, Ms Carnell AO and the Hon. Mr Sharp AM for their leadership of the Authority and wished them well in their future endeavours.

Mr Archer welcomed new Chair Mr Grant King and members Ms Susie Smith and Mr John McGee, noting the wealth of relevant expertise and knowledge they bring to the Authority with them. They join with ongoing members Mr Mark Lewis, Mr Russell Reichelt AO and Chief Scientist Dr Cathy Foley, in leading the future work of the Climate Change Authority.

Date: Friday, 09 April 2021
  • News

Subscribe to email updates and news articles from the Climate Change Authority